top of page
Search

Inspiration

Its really hard to teach yourself how to throw on the pottery wheel!


As I mentioned last time, I tried watching YouTube videos to learn to throw clay. The first step I had to learn was to wedge clay. That really wasn't hard for me. In fact, it was like riding a bike in that I learned how to do it in college, and it came back as naturally as riding a bike does when you have been away from it for a long time.


Next, I had to learn how to center the clay on the wheel. That's not nearly as easy as it sounds, trust me!

I watched so many different teachers, trying to find the method that worked for me that I had to finally decide to stick with just one. I practiced and practiced but finally pretty much started centering clay. I would make forms but I couldn't make exactly what I wanted. Because I didn't really understand what I was doing, the wheel dictated what the form would look like. But let's be honest, I wast happy that at least I could make coffee cups and thing people recognized!


I eventually found a few potter's that I really enjoyed learning from and narrowed my YouTube school sessions to watching Simon Leach, Hsin Chuen Lin, Danielle the Clay Lady and Tammy Jo Schoppet. These people are good teachers, and if you are also trying to learn pottery you may want to check out their YouTube channels!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page