top of page
Search

The Next Step: The journey isn't always romantic or glamorous

Updated: Mar 16, 2020


Now that I had a pottery wheel, I figured the fun can now begin.


Well, how DO I begin?

“The key to realizing a dream is to focus not on success but significance, and then even the small steps and little victories along your path will take on greater meaning.” -Oprah Winfrey




The first small steps

That's a great question. How do I begin? Well, I tried working on the pottery wheel, hoping I would remember everything I learned from my college pottery class 20+ years ago. I didn't remember enough. The first task a potter must accomplish is wedging the clay. It removes all the air bubbles and makes the clay uniform. After some practice and a little internet refresher I caught on fairly quick.

BUT the next order of business, centering the clay SOUNDS easy enough but proved to be extremely difficult. I watched countless videos on You Tube and I was still struggling. I learned the hard way not to watch 15 different potters center clay, because they had 15 different methods. There were days I cried. I wanted to give up because I couldn't afford to take a class where a teacher could look at me and tell me what I was doing wrong. It was way harder than I had imagined but I was determined to master this elusive art form so each time I experienced a small victory I celebrated! My husband was my biggest cheerleader so honestly, without his encouragement I may have given up.

I didn't have a basement or a designated room for my pottery so I set up in my KITCHEN! I was messy and slung wet clay everywhere so my husband hung plastic "walls" to help contain my mess. I practiced and practiced and made my first two mugs! Victory!



Please follow me on my clay journey! I would love to hear your thought and share in your clay journey also!


I am on social media, Etsy and of course, this blog. Please come with me on this amazing ride!

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page